Category Archives: Jeffrey Brown

Review: ‘Lucy & Andy Neanderthal: The Stone Cold Age’

“Lucy & Andy Neanderthal: The Stone Cold Age” by Jeffrey Brown

Jeffrey Brown has the uncanny ability to get in touch with his inner tween. He has all the snarky put-downs and sulky sighs down pat. It all adds up to a lot of fun for young readers with his latest graphic novel, “Lucy & Andy Neanderthal: The Stone Cold Age,” published by Crown Books. If you have patience and a sense of humor, you too can appreciate the angst of the pre-teen. For starters, nothing goes to plan in this world. Then set your pre-teen story 40,000 years ago during the Ice Age, and you’re set.

Andy can’t get a break!

Our title characters prove to be two highly mercurial tweens. Lucy seems nice but she is prone to not participate and let the team down. Andy seems capable but he is prone to self-serving behavior and hurtful naysaying–not admirable qualities when trying to live with others. Neither Lucy nor Andy appear to possess even one valuable character trait needed to survive the severe conditions in this story. These two characters are not particularly likable nor admirable and that’s part of the humor that Brown likes to play with.

Learning through humor.

Brown really doesn’t sweat over having things tidy and proper. His artwork, and his script, have a very casual vibe. In fact, it is a clever mix of irreverence and thoughtful planning. While it feels like one of the young characters created this book, clearly there is a well-crafted structure. Alternating between the Ice Age story is a contemporary story that follows Pam and Eric, a couple of intrepid young paleontologists. From Pam and Eric we learn such things as the climate has been consistently warming up for the last 12,000 years. And, intertwined within the narrative, Brown provides all sorts of educational goodies like Timeline of Key Discoveries, Ice Age Fact vs. Fiction, Silly Cavemen Myths, and more.

This book is intended for an age range of 8 to 12 years-old. This will definitely appeal to fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and The Terrible Two. “Lucy & Andy Neanderthal: The Stone Cold Age” is a 224-page hardcover, the second in a series, published by Crown Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House. It will be available as of August 29, 2017, and is available for pre-order.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Comics, Education, Graphic Novel Reviews, graphic novels, Jeffrey Brown, Teachers

COMIC-CON 2011 Memo #9: Lizzy Caplan

Lizzy Caplan will star in the upcoming movie, “Save The Date,” a comedy based on the work of cartoonist Jeffrey Brown.

Leave a comment

Filed under Comic-Con, Comics, Jeffrey Brown, moives

COMIC-CON 2011 Memo #8: Alison Brie

Alison Brie will star in the upcoming movie, “Save The Date,” a comedy based on the work of cartoonist Jeffrey Brown.

Leave a comment

Filed under Comic-Con, Comics, Jeffrey Brown, moives

COMIC-CON 2011 Memo #7: Jeffrey Brown

It was at Comic-Con that news of a movie based on the work of cartoonist Jeffrey Brown has caught on.

Well, it won’t be another “Scott Pilgrim” as far as having a studio spend $60 million only to make $30 million at the box office.

This is the logline for “Save the Date”: “a comedy centered on two very different sisters.” That seems to add up to, from what I can tell, an indie movie with an indie budget and perhaps aspirations to being a new generation’s answer to the Woody Allen classic, “Hannah and Her Sisters,” a comedy-drama centered on three very different sisters. Well, maybe something sort of like that.

It is really cool to see this come about. “Save The Date” stars Lizzy Caplan (“Cloverfield”) and Alison Brie (“Mad Men”).

Leave a comment

Filed under Comic-Con, Comics, Jeffrey Brown, moives